Reserves Life Membership

Reserves Life Memberships

From 1919 to 1959 Richmond’s Second Eighteen (the Richmond Junior League Football Club from 1919 to 1923) operated independently from the seniors.
The Cubs, as they were referred, were governed by its own committee and administered by its own staff. The Cubs also issued their own awards and honours, including Life Memberships.

From January 1932 the Cubs’ Life Members were permitted to sit in on the junior club’s committee meetings.
The Cubs’ constitution was altered at the February 15, 1949 Annual Meeting to permit just one Life Member being elected annually.
The Cubs were absorbed into the senior club immediately prior to the start of the 1960 season.

Five Second Eighteen Life Members have been honoured with Life Membership of the senior Richmond Football Club.
They are Mal Wishart (2nds 1928, 1sts 1959), Lou Roberts (1sts 1929, 2nds 1931), Charlie Callander (2nds 1935, 1sts 1941), Ben Alexander (2nds 1940, 1sts 1968), and Robert Knapp (2nds 1947, 1sts 1954).
Mal and Angus Wishart (1927 and 1931) are the only brothers honoured with Life Membership of the Cubs.

1921 Arthur Richmond Lewis B: 1866 D: February 4 1941, in Northcote, aged 75) Hon Secretary, Delegate.
Harry Lisle B: 1892 Beechworth D: November 5 1974, aged 82 "former player, committeeman and respected life member of the Richmond Cricket Club" Assistant Secretary, Treasurer, Delegate
1928 Malcolm "Mal" Gordon Wishart B: 1899 D: 1982 10 years as a player.
Jim McDougall
1929 Percy Adams "Life Membership medallion was presented to Mr Perc Adams" (MB April 24 1929)
Stud Martin "Moved that a Life Membership Medallion be made for Mr S Martin" (MB May 271929)
1930 Jim “Spriggy” Doran "This Committee recommend to the Annual Meeting that Mr J Doran become a life member of this club" (MB 22/1/1930). "The President presented a Life Membership medallion to J 'Spriggy' Doran and eulogised that player on the fine service he had rendered the club over a period of 15 years. (MB Players' Meeting 30 April 1930)
George B. Smith "During the meeting Messrs G Smith and W Payne were elected life members of the club" (MB 16 Dec 1930 - Annual Meeting)
Wally Payne "During the meeting Messrs G Smith and W Payne were elected life members of the club" (MB 16 Dec 1930 - Annual Meeting)
1931 H. Lou Roberts (D: 28 July 1945) 6 years of service, President.
Angus Edward Wishart B: 1904 D Sept 1988 Secretary, Treasurer, Delegate
1932 Harry Hewett 5 years service, Assistant Secretary , Delegate to VFL 2nd 18 League. Also played for RCC
D. McGuire 6 years service Chairman of Committees, and TimeKeeper for 5 years.
1933 Gordon McKay Timekeeper 7yrs, Doorkeeper 9 yrs
James McInnes Cook Member since 1927
1934 Les Langdon Cubs player 1928-1933, Social Secretary
Jim Joyce Social Secretary/Assistant
1935 Herbert "Bert" Cox b: May, 1905, Eaglehawk d: 27 Oct , Camberwell Treasurer , Member for 7 years
Charlie Callander Committee 5 years, Ticket Secretary 3 years
1936 K. Rupert Vincent "Rupe" Myers B: 1906 Richmond D: July 6 1946, Fitzroy,aged 40 Selector, Social Secretary, Delegate, Assistant Secretary.
Allan Cole Joined in 1914 with the 'Richmond Juniors' as honorary coach. Player 1914 -18. Trainer 1918-1936. (AR)
1937 Jack Johnston Trainer since 1923
1939 Nick Healey "One of our oldest members still actively connected with the club" (AR 1939)Joined club in 1921 as player til 1923, Appointed Trainer 1923 - 1939(except 2 years where he broke his wrist)
1940 Ben Alexander (President of Richmond Seconds)
1943 Jim Petrie
Ernie Jordan Committeeman, Vice President
1944 J. Jones
H. Morgan
1945 J. Broman
S. “Jock” McDougall
1946 Jim Phelan Reserves Delegate, 'representative at juniors matches'
Harry Langhorne Head trainer, property steward
1947 Robert A Knapp
Joseph Meredith D: 1957
1948 Norman House
1949 W. Millar Social worker , committeeman
Bob Brady Selector, acting chairman of selectors
1950 Alby Pannam B: 19 April 1914 D: 17 March 1993 5 years coach of Cubs. (1946 premiers, runners up in1947 and 1948)
1951 Frank T Keon 7 years as Treasurer (there is also possibly an F.J Keon)
1952 Laurie Ford Committee since 1945, Assistant Secretary
1953 Robert "Bob" Clarkson 16 years bootstudder
1954 H. Crook
1955 J. Clarke
1956 John Ritchie 8 years with Cubs
1957 G. Johnson
1958 Claude O’Brien
B: 1927| D: 22 Feb 2015, aged 88 |